How many women have you danced with?

A little while ago I was chatting to a tangeuro at Carablanca. It was a bit of a quiet night.

“I can’t believe this, I’ve only danced with four or five women tonight. I come here to dance. I’m going to Negracha.”

(Yes, please do – floorcraft would improve if you did)

I don’t know how to respond. I’m certain any honest response would’ve fallen on death ears. I think I had only danced with two women at the time I spoke to him. But at least they were good dances.

If I can get one good tanda then I think I’ve had a good night. I find that getting a really good dance in London is quite difficult. There are plenty of women who are brilliant dancers that I enjoy dancing with (and are willing to dance with me). But trying to get them to the right orchestra is always a challenge. Whats even harder is getting a dance when the floorcraft isn’t so bad. Its that combination of partner, music and floorcraft that makes the or breaks the night for me.

If I can get one really good dance where everything falls in place, then I’ve had a good evening, anything else is a bonus. I’m not sure how some people can use the number of people they’ve danced with to gauge how good a night they’ve had.

I later found out from that Tanguero’s Facebook that Negracha was just as quiet that night – what a pity …

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “How many women have you danced with?”

  1. jantango Says:

    There will always be people who think tango is about the quantity of partners rather than the quality of the dance. At least you know the difference. Some may never understand.

  2. Arlene Says:

    I have been to Negracha many nights and not danced one tanda at all. I am way too picky or my friends that I would dance with were not there that night. So it goes….I always have a good time. Like Jantango says, quality is more important than quantity. I have bee there this last weekend and actually had a few tandas for a change! 🙂

Leave a Reply

